Amazing Prismacolor Pencils

Last month I purchased the large 120 Prismacolor Pencil set and I must say I’m falling in love with them.  I had never used them before and kind of wasn’t sure what to expect.  I’d heard so many people rave about them but I had half expected them to be just like any other pencils I have used over the years.  Needless to say I have been pleasantly surprised!  They are so creamy and pigmented and they blend together beautifully.  I have found them a much-needed break from dealing with the mess and cleanup of using acrylic paints and pastels.  Also I don’t end up having the products all over myself at the end of the day. 🙂 

The only downside is that they are expensive and they don’t come already sharpened!!!  120 pencils to sharpen is a bit of a daunting task.  The box set does come with a nice sharpener but I did have to spend the first hour drowning in a pile of pencil shavings. 

I’ve been using them while I’ve been doing the Doll Dreams Class and I’m loving the results I’ve been getting so far.

I drew this dolly using the Prismacolor pencils, fine tip Posca pens and also the black and brown fine tip Artline pens. (I never knew that Artline makes colours other than black and I found a cool variety of colours at the Newsagent the other day). © Camille Hayes 2011

 

I’ve already used up half of the black and white pencils and will have to reorder some more online.  I’m eager to try them on a leopard or lion drawing and hopefully will do so soon.

Leave a Reply

